Life Shows Hope in Many Ways

Okay,

Now that I’m looking for hope. I find little hints of it everywhere. I was expecting big ol’ clues like:

  1. Winning the Lottery
  2. Finding a Twenty…No, A Fifty dollar bill
  3. Getting that darn Alaska quarter to finally finish my Coin Collection of the States. (Forget about collecting the Presidents)

But daily living still has hints of hope. I’ve just been missing them. I haven’t seen the Virgin Mary in any of my food yet, but something to eat still brings a message of hope.

amykins1111 knows HOPE when she sees it.

amykins1111 knows HOPE when she sees it.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Hope, Worries and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Life Shows Hope in Many Ways

  1. Penny Haynes says:

    I was reminded today of what my hope USED to be, before I became so obsessed with making money to get out of business debt. I used to be focused on Romans 5:2 – And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. I used to hope to be more like Jesus, his goodness, kindness, long suffering nature, forgiveness, love and concern for others, etc. If that is what I hope for, then I can’t be disappointed. Putting my hope in worldly things for the past 7 years has really only resulted in disappointment. Time for a shift for me personally.

    Like

  2. Alice Lynn says:

    Hope

    Hope is the thing with feathers
    That perches in the soul,
    And sings the tune–without the words,
    And never stops at all,

    And sweetest in the gale is heard;
    And sore must be the storm
    That could abash the little bird
    That kept so many warm.

    I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
    And on the strangest sea;
    Yet, never, in extremity,
    It asked a crumb of me.

    This is one of the best images of hope I’ve come across. Of course, Emily Dickinson is a favorite poet. She knew that hope is that indwelling attitude of the heart as well as the surprise of beauty unlooked for.

    Like

  3. Roxie says:

    As you so correctly note, hoping to win the lottery stands small chance of success (but people keep buying those tickets anyway.)

    On the other hand, we practice hope all the time and don’t realize it. I put the gingerbread in the oven and hope it will come out as expected. and it does! I go to bed and hope to wake up in the morning. I do! I brush my teeth and hope it will help me keep them longer. Worked so far. I flick a switch and hope the lights come on. Frequently, often, almost always, they do. Practice your small hopes, dear. Build up to the big ones, and trust that God loves you and wants the very best for you. That may not be exactly what YOU want for you, but really, He knows best. I want to lie in bed and watch TV all day while eating icecream. Fortunately, I don’t have that kind of life.

    Like

  4. susanls says:

    Oh, yeah, and cupcakes. Isn’t your turn to bring chocolate? Those cupcakes qualify!

    Like

  5. susanls says:

    I’ve found hope recently in hanging out with Helen’s friend in the hospital while she awaited some pretty extensive surgery. Her spirit was inspiring. And watching the tenderness of 31 years of friendship was awe-inspiring.

    Like

  6. Barb says:

    Yeah, Lisa,
    I love little surprises like that. I often forget that it only takes a little thing to uplift someone else’s day. When I remember, it helps me get out of a funk and give other people eyecontact.
    thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. lisanowak says:

    Here’s where I’ve found hope lately:

    Revisting old high school relationships through Facebook and learning how easy it can be to forgive the people who once hurt me.

    Getting an unexpected Christmas card from a neighbor and taking her cookies in return, then finding a box of chocolates on my door a few days later.

    Posting to my blog and having people respond from their hearts in the comments section.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

