What a way to Query

I was telling Lisa that right now queries seemed like little arrows that I was sending out, only to have them return with a bit of pain.

One solution is not to send out anything. Boo Hiss! That’s a sure way to NEVER get published.

If you’re like me, and you’re working on writing queries, I suggest you send off to the Renegade Writers at the following e-mail for a batch of free sample queries to help unstick your brain and come up with some snappy presentations.

<queries@renegadewriter.com>

I’m going to start sending those queries with a hope and a prayer.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What a way to Query

  1. Barb says:

    Susan, Roxie, this is such I good idea, I’m going to blog it on the Wednesday Chrysalis. What if we made it our goal to get 1000 rejections, or enough to make that “rejection rug.”

    We’d keep sending out, hoping to get more. Perfect.

    Like

  2. susanls says:

    Years ago, in another life and time, I had a brother-in-law who had so many speeding tickets he could paper a room with them. His auto insurance was $1000 a month. Not something to aspire to.

    But, wouldn’t our writing spaces be cool with all our rejection letters covering the walls? Frame the encouraging ones, scribble on the form letters then slap them on the wall, make a rug out of the nasty ones and walk all over them. This could become our path toward publication: weird interior decorating!

    Like

  3. Roxie says:

    Maybe we should look at it backwards. The goal is to get a thousand rejections. THEN it starts to count! So fire off lots of querries and get over that first thousand hump.

    Yeah, doesn’t work for me, either. You just gotta put on your big-girl panties and be persistent. Your writing is GOOD! It’s worth publishing! I would pay real money for your books. Someone out there is gonna see your value and be sooo glad that they accepted you!

    Like

  4. lisanowak says:

    I agree that not sending anything out is an unproductive approach. However, I find that the majority of people who write would rather be comfortable than published. They won’t say that out loud, but their behavior screams the message. And that’s okay. We should all write for our own reasons. No one is obligated to submit their work. I just don’t want to waste my time listening while people who won’t try bellyache about how hard it is to get published. I’d rather spend that time on my own writing or helping someone who’s putting herself out there and taking the risks. Someone like you. Kudos for all your hard work and courage.

    Like

  5. eBookGuru says:

    You may want to consider e-Publishing. If your work is good, you’ll greatly increase your chances of getting accepted. Things are quite tough in the print marketplace at the moment.

    There’s an article on our site (no longer on the front page) that talks about it.

    Cheers,
    Trevas

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

