Why You Should Look for Lights

One adventursome day, my son and I packed our backpacks and decided that we’d hike the 40 miles around Mt. Hood. We pitched our tents the first night at a beautiful place, Paradise Park, on the shin of the mountain,

The Starseed Lure

The Starseed Lure

When night fell it was even more astounding.  Absolute blackness except for the stars.

We hiked up an adjoining hill and from the peak, we could see the lights of small towns in the distance.  The problem came when we tried to hike back down. We’d bushwhacked our way to the top; there weren’t any trails, and as we worked our way down, the camp wasn’t where we thought it should be.

Fortunately we’d left one small alpine candle lit and hanging at camp. That tiny pinprick of light (which seemed like a beacon to us) guided us back to our tents.

Since then, I always look for lights, and I always try to leave a light burning.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Hope, Lights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why You Should Look for Lights

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    You’re braver than me. If we go camping, I have to be in a cabin or motor home. Just too chicken to sleep in a tent. Shoot, I wouldn’t be sleeping in the tent; I’d be awake listening to every little sound, real or imagined. 🙂

    Like

  2. Roxie says:

    My dear, you ARE a light burning!

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

