Hope: No Experience Necessary

Okay, I said that I’d make February, a month to Step Out of my self and pay attention to others. I had the perfect opportunity, yesterday when I went to visit a friend in Rehab.Every small thing means something to someone

By Alex Pears

By Alex Pears

She had just finished with a medical procedure and was fast asleep. I asked the Care Manger if there was someone there who had a story to tell and would like a visit.

She introduced me to a woman who had so many inspirational stories.  That’s when I realized that everyone has a story, and as we age, we are anxious (usually) to tell them.  Maybe that’s why we have so many writers right now.  If every writer would record just one scene of someone’s story, we would have a rich quilt (afghan for you knitters out there) of lives coming together. Here’s a short one.

The Housekeeper

The Trauma Center is a specialized facility  for any emergency at any time. Usually, the clock of life is ticking down on the patients who are wheeled through their doors. The doctors and staff spend hours at operating tables reattaching things and doing heroics on body parts that have broken.

And then there is the housekeeper. She has no degrees behind her name, but every patient remembers her. As she cleans their room, she sings them a prayer.  The words are impromtu. The melody is made up. Her voice is clear and beautiful as she mops with carols such as: “Lord, take care of Joan. Hold Joan in the palm of your hand. Help her to….”

When the housekeeper knows that someone is being transferred away from the trauma unit, she’ll walk with one hand on the guerney, singing a prayer for the patient all the way to the ambulance.

The doctors don’t mind.  The staff doesn’t mind. The patients?

They feel blessed.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Hope, Smiles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hope: No Experience Necessary

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    I work in a nursing home. I see things like this in the hearts of some of the folks I work with. They are generous and loving to a fault. They give more than just the 8 hours they are paid. They give love to many who would not have it otherwise.

    It’s always inspiring to hear such heartwarming stories.

    Like

  2. Barb says:

    Such a beautiful story Roxie

    Like

  3. Barb says:

    Isle philosopher…
    Thank you. Angel’s voices come in many forms, yes?

    Like

  4. lisanowak says:

    That’s such an inspiring story, Barb. It’s good to know that there are people who step out a little and give something extra.

    Like

  5. Roxie says:

    What memories you evoke! When I was thirty, I had a baby out of wedlock and released him for adoption. He was breech and the doctor decided to go for a c-section. As I was being prepped, I asked my labor coaches to sing to me. They were soprano and alto and started with “Lo how a rose,” in acapella harmony. (It was Dec. 1) the anesthesiologist spontaneously joined in with the tenor part. I was cradled, carried out of myself, blessed beyond words.

    The next day,as I was recuperating from the surgery, I heard the nurses on my floor start their shift with “Amazing Grace.” I quietly sang along from my bed, dwelling on the words. They sang only 2 verses. I carried on, this thread of a voice affirming, “The Lord has promised good to me. He all my hope secures. He will my shield and comfort be, as long as life endures.”

    There’s one of my stsories.

    Like

  6. islephilosopher says:

    Therapeutic is the voice of an ‘Angel’.

    A wonderful post 🙂

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

