God’s Addressbook Includes Hope

My favorite line in Thorton Wilder’s Our Town is delivered by a George Gibbs talking about an address he’d seen on an envelope.

“I never told you about that letter Jane Crofut got from her minister when she was sick.

He wrote Jane a letter and on the envelope the address was like this: It said,

Jane Crofut,

the Crofut Farm,

Grover’s Corners;

Sutton County;

New Hampshire;

United States of America;

continent of North America;

Western Hemisphere;

the Earth;

the Solar System;

The Universe;

the mind of God

– that’s what it said on the envelope. And the postman brought it just the same.” Thornton Wilder – ‘Our Town

Sometimes in the dark of the night, I think I’m the only one not sleeping. And then I remember that I have an address in God’s mind. In this vast universe, He knows right where I am. It makes me smile. It gives me hope.

So when  I receive another piece of bad news, or worries are tightening around my throat,  I sometimes forget to look up.

Good thing the Creator of Everything knows just where to find me.

He’s got my address. and he delivers,  just the same.

(Yes, you star-gazing experts will recognize the picture as Andromeda Galaxy. He’s knows everyone’s address there, too!)

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Enough, Hope, Sleepless Nights, Worries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to God’s Addressbook Includes Hope

  1. Pingback: God’s Addressbook Includes Hope « Before Morning Breaks | A Message From God — amessagefromgod.org

  2. Pingback: God’s Addressbook Includes Hope « Before Morning Breaks « A Message From God

  3. Lisa Nowak says:

    Barb,

    This is just a test to see if I can comment now that you’ve approved me or if this will get caught in the spam filter. Feel free to delete it.

    Like

  4. Lisa Nowak says:

    Barb,

    I’m having a heck of a time commenting on WordPress blogs lately. I have no idea why, but it just won’t work. I’ve tried on your earlier posts and got nowhere. We will see if this one gets through.

    Like

  5. susanls says:

    As usual, your thoughts speak to my heart. Blessings. Alien blessings even.

    Like

  6. matt says:

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

    Like

  7. Roxie says:

    And I love the message of the ongoing miracle of life in that play. How little we appreciate every, every minute. No surprise that babies are speechless with wonder. They haven’t learned how to ignore the glory yet.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

