Dogs Waiting With Cats

Even in the midst of crummy news, there are things to smile about.

Miss Kitty has a growth on the side of her mouth. It doesn’t seem to bother her a bit. She still presents mice at the back door step and is rolly-polly fat.

We hauled Miss Kitty to the vet this afternoon. I was in a pouty mood because my dentist had just told me that I needed a crown on a tooth, yet he can’t get it done before my insurance runs out. It seems he’s fully booked.

“Busier than I’ve been in several months,” he declared. It’s because of all the people laid off of work, trying to get dental work done before their insurance runs out.”  (Yeah, tell me about it.)

So our  family made it an outing to take Miss Kitty to the vet. I sat in  the cramped waiting room stewing  about  how to get a new crown, CowboyFan is sitting next to me wondering how much we actually need this cat (who never liked him). Scout is holding the cat which has lodged its head in Scout’s armpit, thus believing it’s hidden.

The door opens and a dog as big as a Shetland pony enters. It’s a Great Dane/ elephant mix.

The little poodle, who had been showing off by prancing circles on her hind legs, huddles between its owner’s legs.  A cat scuddles to the back corner of its carrier. Miss Kitty lets out a low moan (although she couldn’t see or smell the G.Dane—remember her head is rooted in Scout’s armpit which should stun both her optical and olfactory senses for at least a week).

The Dane’s name is Daisy. She’s orangey brown and looks like someone slung a black paintbrush at her, creating a brindle effect. Her owners couldn’t afford her anymore, so they’d dropped her off at animal rescue. The couple who adopted her brought her to the vet  for a check up.

Daisy  is a good-hearted doofus. She  lays when her new owner tells her, “Down.” Then she crawls like a marine across the floor on her doggy elbows to sniff the poodle cowering against the wall.She tries to make friends with a poster of a dog. Within minutes the waiting room is laughing at her Jim Carey antics.

CowboyFan is chuckling and starting a community conversation about pets. I am laughing and thoughts of my dental work fade away. Miss Kitty is so relaxed that someone asks if she’s alive since there’s the body of a cat splayed over Scout’s lap (her head is still in his armpit, so she may have  passed out).

Miss Kitty will have surgery.  We will take care of her and be reminded of what a gift pets are to us. They jog our focus that there are beings outside of ourselves. They teach us about  love, companionship, and an honesty about life. They remind us to hope. They remind us to laugh.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Cats/Dogs, Hope, Smiles, Worries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dogs Waiting With Cats

  1. Pingback: Thanks, Toyota, Fur the Adventure | Before Morning Breaks

  2. Barb says:

    Thanks Les for the info.

    I thought I was the only one who stayed up all night. It’s good to know the light’s still on, half a continent away.

    Like

  3. Lisa Nowak says:

    Hmmm. I wonder if your dentist could bill for the work in advance, then do it when he has an opening? Sort of a pre-payment.

    I hope your kitty comes out of this okay.

    Like

  4. Les Riles says:

    Wow, I’m with you on everything you said, Barb. First of all, I hope Miss Kitty is okay. Our daughter has a Norwegian Forrest Cat named Miss Kitty as well. Iris and I have three kitties, Charlie, Riley & Perry. Tabby, Siamese Flame Point, and Orange/white Domestic Long Hair. 4yrs, 6yrs & 16yrs! Say, isn’t there a way to share pics with comments on WordPress? We’ve got to get to the bottom of this one!

    Your Royal Teeth certainly deserve their crowns! I suppose I’m one of those people that kept you from getting yours, ASAP. Fearing an imminent layoff, Iris and I have been going to our dentist almost biweekly for *months* to get stuff done. With 3-1/2 years on the job, we wanted to get our money’s worth out of our insurance. As you know, Barb, this is all now “history.” (the job)

    Good news… once laid off, insurance should still run for a *month*. After that, if you’re there already, there’s COBRA, which you can sign up for up to 3 months after you’ve been out of work. (Check me on that…) and best of all… Obama’s stimulus package has the gov’t covering 65% of the COBRA payments. Unbelievable! What would have cost Iris and I to be covered is costing us @ 240 per mo. for both our medical and dental (no kids on our plan.)

    I had my teeth cleaned with the help of COBRA on Wednesday. Iris had hers done around 3 weeks ago. If you don’t have COBRA yet to continue your past insurance, please look into it. Queens deserve their crowns!

    Vets & Pets
    No insurance coverage here. But they cost us too. Our feline gang just got their shots a while back along with their new flea collars (wow, have those gone up in $$$!) But our kitties are SUCH a part of our family.

    Note & Idea: Listen up, all unemployed with pets!
    Our son and daughter-in-law in PA told us tonite that they spend some time every week volunteering at an animal shelter. They care for cats. They basically spend a few hours with kitties just playing with them, petting them, and showing them love. Their reward… it’s obvious, they leave happier people. (They also have 3 of their own at home, or the animal shelter would have already have found a home for a few more.) IDEA: Perhaps your vet or local animal shelter would like to share points for time spent with their animals towards your kitties/doggies needs in the future. Kind of like a kitty-treat or doggy-bone bank! Just a thought.

    I’m writing this as the sun is coming up and we haven’t made it to bed yet. I’d better go before I turn into a bleary-eyed vampire. Keep your head up, your writing lifts my spirits. Even on your rough days you are an inspiration.

    Don’t forget, if you figure out how to share pics in our WordPress blogs, let me know and we’ll have a kitty-fest-share-a-thon. Nite nite for now. ~ Les

    Like

  5. Roxie says:

    How is Miss Kitty now? I love the image of her “hiding” with her head in Scout’s armpit. And finally relaxing (asphixiated?) Is she his cat? OR rather, is her her person?

    Like

  6. Alice Lynn says:

    I’ve just finished administering a prescription to our cat, Hochito, who thinks he’s the cat’s meow (or at least a primal, untutored, er un-neutered male. The crown I’m getting in May isn’t for being the Queen of same. So we divide our funds between humans and pets. But the pleasure and joy they give us is priceless. They love us, patrol our property (part of what gets Hochito into disputes) and provide us with laughter and conversation. For instance, have you ever see your cat snoozing the back of your sofa,suddenly topple off? That’s a laugh for us and and a “gee, I meant to do that” moment for kitty.

    Like

  7. digipicsphotography says:

    Life wouldn’t be life without pets. They ground us.

    Like

  8. auburnchick says:

    I totally understand what you’re saying! My youngest pup, Molly, has really put us through the wringer with her medical bills. Her propensity to jump over fences, dig under them, and to fight with my oldest dog has sent us to the vet numerous times…to the tune of a pretty penny. My husband has been less than thrilled, but then all is forgiven when she looks at us with the most beautiful eyes I’ve ever seen.

    I adore my pets.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

