Night time Brain Drain

Thanks to the Medem Medical Library

Thanks to the Medem Medical Library

For the last two nights,  I’ve fallen asleep quickly, but then I find I’m working in my sleep. I’m aware of this in my dreams and tell myself to stop.  I’ve  even gotten up, had a bowl of cereal, hoping the intermission will change my thought pathways. But when I went back to bed and fell into a light snooze, I wrote a Powerpoint presentation on the history of Scouting.

Good grief. (It’s not due for another 3 weeks.)  I organized slides and wrote script, and let me tell you, it was BRILLIANT!

Of course, I can’t remember a bit of it in my waking hours. I’m tired, and feeling as though I’ve worked all night.

Brain experts tell us that 2 things are guaranteed to vacuum the brain of creativity and spark:

  1. stress. This nasty little noodler of brain cells makes us focus on sidepaths rather than our goals and leaves us without energy to work on what’s truly important. (Okay, I knew that, but it’s not fair that it’s at work in my sleep.) And…
  2. A repetitive and routine-driven life sucks the life out of your mental processes.

AAAwk!  Like Pigpen in the “Peanuts” comic strip, chaos fumes around me  in funky clouds. That’s why I strive for routine. I look for “uncrowded”, “unnoticed” paths for every project. Repetitive and routine would be wonderful, if only I could achieve it. CowboyFan says it’s because my definition of “Routine” is not the same as a sane person’s definition.

Well….who can accept the word of a man who thinks black-walnut ice cream is a huge anomaly?

So this week (much to CowboyFan’s horror), I’m adding one new experience to each day.

Why not join me for at least a day?  We’ll see if creating a new snyapse truly does help our sleep.

Do something different. It can be easy: (eat with your left hand; wear your watch on your opposite arm; wear you shirt inside out {which I’ve done by accident, then tried to convince folks that I meant to do it…ego is a sad thing, yes?])

Or Challenge yourself: learn a new skill: sharpen a mower blade; interview for a job; dye your hair pink.

I’ll report on my progress through the week. Let me know what new activity you’re doing for your brain.

Today…I’m going to make soup— blindfolded.

P.S. If I don’t post on the blog tomorrow, it’s because I’m in the hospital.

See…one new experience leads to another.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Hope, Sleepless Nights, Smiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Night time Brain Drain

  1. roselefebvre says:

    I find my brain going full blast during the time I wish to sleep as well. Often it will be mulling over the things I need to do, what I wish to do and how many problems I am facing. All my worries come to the top in the wee hours of the morning and danced through my brain wearing spiked heels. If I pick up a book and start reading, I often get drowsy and drift off.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Eureaka! It Works. « Before Morning Breaks

  3. Pingback: The Art of Lashing…Now We Be Ready To Sail « Before Morning Breaks

  4. Les Riles says:

    Oh you are oh so wrong!
    Barb, we still have some “gettin’ to know each other” to go! I will have you know that we are the proud owners (and USERS) of no less than 20 or 25 reusable grocery bags. Wal-Mart Deluxe. One dolla apiece. What fits in them? three plastic bags worth of groceries! You won’t find me giving China credit for much these days, but did you know that plastic bags are now BANNED from use there? Yup. The government laid down the law. I’m not sure if I can put a link in a WordPress comment, but let me try… check out China’s savings. If there’s no link here as you read this, go to thedailygreen.com and search for “china’s plastic bag ban will save” and the top article that comes up will be the one. Wait until you see what they save, just wait! (No, don’t wait, go take a peek now, and come back.) Here’s a quote from the Wall Street Journal, It’s estimated that 3 billion plastic bags are used each day in China, where the discarded bags are known as “white pollution.”

    But I digress… We did forget bags in the car though, and at home as well. That’s how we wound up with 20-25 of them. If we forgot the 3 or 4 that we had, well, shame on us, we just bought 3 or 4 more. (Let’s face it, how many times are you going to forget, once or twice? Wrong!) Anyway, after we had about 8 in each car, (we used to have 3 cars, now down to 2, thankfully,) we finally started remembering them. Now we neatly fold a bunch of them and put them back into one of the bags. Such fun. The only thing that still goes in plastic bags is nasty meat. Well, not nasty as in uneatable, just, you know, yucky from blood and guts and stuff. (I’m 90% vegetarian, don’t really like touching meat, or having chicken stuff dripping in a bag, eww!) Anyway, bags…

    Yup, Barb, Les & Iris use ’em alright. Now let me see if I can get Iris away from her studying. (2 more weeks of training on her new job, she’s really working hard!)

    I’ll write more soon. I know for sure what ONE of my challenges is going to be: Going Sun Up to Sun Down without turning on this machine! But for tonite, good nite, sleep tight, and don’t let the bed bugs bite. ~ Les

    Like

  5. Barb says:

    Yeah, Lisa,
    I have those dreams too. But this time, I thought whatever I was writing was brilliant. So clever…that I couldn’t even remember what it was about when I awakened. POOHey.

    Like

  6. Barb says:

    Oooo. Okay Roxie, give us a report about things from the cat’s perspective…or did you fall asleep?

    Like

  7. Roxie says:

    I think the aliens are using brain rays on us. I’ve been having disturbing dreams, too. Ugh!

    One new experience a day? Well, yesterday I was late to work. does that count? How about if I wear my panties backward? Naw – I want to stimulate creativity, not suffer. How about lying on the floor for an hour to get a new perspective on things?

    Like

  8. Lisa Nowak says:

    I try to write, edit, and read in my sleep. Only I don’t do brilliant work like you. For me there’s an anxious, repetitive nature to the writing and when I’m reading the words don’t make any sense.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

