I’ve Got My Fingers, But No Hands Today

In an effort to avoid sleepless nights from Brain Drain, I’m breaking out of my routine. Yesterday I made soup—blindfolded.

I was amazed to find  that my feet knew my kitchen even when I couldn’t see. I tried not to think about how to get from the refrigerator to the sink. I walked and stopped; and who-woulda-thought— the sink was right there! It was the same with the drawers. The stove. The utensils.

Perhaps it’s called “muscle memory.” But whatever the file in the brain is called, it has recorded all my steps to familiar places. (I wonder if I can tap into this process to find my lost keys? Maybe my feet remember where I put them.)

I was pretty smug until I started using the knife.  Even moving slowly,  it frightened me. I waited until Scout got home so he could take me to ER if I mistook a finger for a carrot.  I’m not sure which was more interesting: chopping veggies blindfolded or Scout’s on-going commentary.  Well, the soup was good, but had rather large veggies in it.

Since I was so worried about hacking off my digits yesterday, today’s experiement was: NOT USING MY RIGHT HAND.

Yes, I’m typing this hunt & peck style. And let me say: I’m thankful for spell check. Having no right hand has made me become very creative in finding “work-arounds.”  Elbows, toes, hips, and knees become important players in hefting, sweeping, and opening doors. I’m even looking forward to the next laundry day when I can actually fold with 2 hands. ( Funny how I take little things for granted.)

So here’s the sweet little secret I’ve learned so far: Like a movie, our brain knows the script and if we rest the main actors of our body (our hands and eyes), then the other characters get a chance to star.

What a wonderful creation we are…and that gives me hope.

Tommorrow?   I’ll try life without speaking.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Hope, Sleepless Nights, Smiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’ve Got My Fingers, But No Hands Today

  1. Roxie says:

    You are wonderful, brave and vital. You are Ziva with a warm and earthy sense of humor! I hope the insomnia wanes quickly, but in the meantime, what an experience!

    Like

  2. roselefebvre says:

    Definitely not an experiment I had ever thought of. About spell check though, it does not catch all errors….for instance, in the line “so he could take me to the ER,” it says cold, not could. Double-checking is always good after using spell check! I learned that long ago!!
    And I missed your happy voice today!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: I’m All Ears and Hot New Snapyses « Before Morning Breaks

  4. digipicsphotography says:

    Many years ago I was “forced” to use only one hand. I had burned my right hand and was unable to use it for several weeks. It really made me appreciate having two hands.

    As they say, necessity is the mother of invention. I did learn to use other parts of my anatomy to complete normal household chores.

    Like

  5. Lisa Nowak says:

    Seriously? You’re going to go to Chrysalis and not comment on anyone’s writing? Well, you should blend right in with 80% of the people there. 😉

    I’ve gotta say, I admire this current project of yours.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

