Eureaka! It Works.

Photo by Thomas Hawk

Photo by Thomas Hawk

Sorry, I didn’t wear strappy heels to the Salsa experiment. I’m not sure they would have helped my appearance. There was a mirror across one side of the room. I was thinking Penelope Cruz, but I looked like Tom Cruise jumping around.

I’m not sure how the instructor was able to disconnect her spine from her lower body and move her hips like one of those wooden, jointed snakes you win at a carnival booth.

It was great fun, and like a square dance, I had to listen to the instructor’s calls and try to respond with the right moves. It wasn’t pretty, but it was a lot of exercise.

So, this week I discovered that stepping outside of my routine made a small but significant change in my brain. I experienced new sensory abilities which have become part of my brain’s vocabulary.

This experiment was started to alleviate brain drain in the hopes of sleeping better. Perhaps, if the brain isn’t bored during the day, it doesn’t try to entertain itself at night. I have been sleeping better,but my dreams are still strange…maybe even weirder (probably all those new synapses firing.)

I’ll continue to try to add new routines and different motor skill each day  because I have empirical evidence that it gives results.

How?

I remembered to tote my reusable bags into the store  today.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Hope, Sleepless Nights, Smiles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eureaka! It Works.

  1. Lisa Nowak says:

    I vote for break dancing lessons.

    Like

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    I took clogging (dance) lessons once. I enjoyed it, but I wasn’t any good at it. When they went one way, I went the other. My brain said right when the instructor wanted us to go left. Never could get my brain to agree with the instructor. 😀

    Like

  3. roselefebvre says:

    I like the salsa lesson idea, but my knees and joints don’t work like when I was young, so not for me. You should try bellydancing! They have all sorts of lessons of various kinds on video tapes and many at the libraries! I used to belly dance years ago (shh! Don’t tell anyone! Would hate for them to picture me as I am now wiggling my hips) and it was fun!! Your husband might like it, too! LOL
    Now if you should have an urge to do a massive amount of gardening, I am more than happy to volunteer my backyard to be at your disposal!!!!

    Like

  4. Roxie says:

    Bravo! Are you going to continue with the salsa lessons? And remember, knitting lessons are available any time we can co-ordinate our schedules.

    Other ideas – Try eating a meal blindfolded. Give yourself a five-minutes scalp massage three times in one day. (All that extra circulation coming to the head is bound to stimulate the brain.) Or give your husband a long, sensual, lingering backrub and appreciate every inch of him. Good for both of you.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

