Improving Sleep by Recharging the Brain Battery

Great news.  I’m still remembering to haul those dratted reusable bags into the grocery store since my experiment with brain/memory a couple of weeks ago.  So I thought I’d do some tested ancient exercises (instead of the ones I made up) and see if I can recover even more brain cells and improve sleep.

I ran across  an article about using Chinese Health Balls to recharge.  The benefits are:

  • Stimulates blood circulation
  • Eases  joint stiffness
  • Relieves stress
  • Promotes sleep
  • Increases Memory

HooRAY!! Count me in.  So I dug  out the set that Scout bought  when we were in San Francisco’s China town. They emit a soft chime as I rotate them in one hand.   Their  purpose is to fire the acupuncture points and  nerve endings, while loosening musles.  This is supposed to enliven the cerebrum and nervous system leaving me refreshed and relaxed.

Personally, I think it’s the chiming sound that’s relaxing, more than the muscle twisting.  And maybe the real secret behind the restorative powers of Chinese Boading balls is that you can’t cook, garden, write, or crochet when you’re twirling them in your hand.

I’m sure my memory will improve because I’m making time to sit and think about the things I’m forgetting.

Sleep?….we’ll see.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Sleepless Nights, Smiles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Improving Sleep by Recharging the Brain Battery

  1. Alice Lynn says:

    How nice to know that playing with healthy balls can relax you. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Week 5, Next Week Live! « Laid Off, Now What?

  3. Les says:

    Those look great. You forgot to mention another thing they (thankfully) prevent us from doing… you mentioned “writing” but let’s get real here… they prevent us from living on the keyboard! I guess you can tell I don’t have a set of those. 🙂

    Good for you on remembering the reusable grocery bags. Did I ever tell you that China had such a problem with them that they gave them their own name? “white pollution.” And they’re not talking about clouds blowing in the air or snow piling up. It’s white plastic bags! Having given out 8,000,000,000 of them per year for years, DAILY, they have now banned them all together. Illegal. Gone. Caput. When will we wise up and do the same?

    Anyway, have a great day. Thanks for the share. Keep us posted on more brain-sharpening techniques. Heaven knows we could all benefit from these as we get older. Today I turned 53. (Or was it 52… I’ll have to ask my wife.) See what I mean?!

    Like

  4. Roxie says:

    If it works, it works. We don’t need to analyze why. Try using them while lying in bed, then turn out the light and heave a big, happy sigh. Feel the relaxation sweep over you. ahhhhh. . .

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

