Hope is a Long Road

The Long Road by WVS

I was on a walk a couple days ago when I met up with The Scoutmaster. About five years ago, this seasoned outdoors man taught my family how to do a 50-mile hike through the mountains and make it fun.

We’ve been hiking ever since.

He showed us how to pack our backpacks and trained along with us so we could endure.

Even though he tried to prepare us,  one of the things that we had to discover for ourselves was that a hike is as much a  mental task as it is physical.

My pack weighs about 40 pounds. I remember being about halfway up a mountain slope, when I stopped, cursed and yelled, “I quit!”

Of course, I felt pretty stupid when the echo of my voice came back to me because the only way to get off the mountainside was to keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Even though I’ve done lots of short and long hikes since then, I’m still amazed at how far a person can  go when they  simply keep walking.  Our progress shouldn’t be surprising because there are so many examples around us. A jagged rock will smooth into a boulder under the constant drip of water.  A solid stone wall will become an arch with the drilling of unending gusts of wind.   To keep moving forward will allow us to finally reach our destination.

It seems that the same truth applies to life. If you keep pounding away at problems, you’ll get past them. Sure there’s blisters, and dry spells, and maybe even some yelling, but the biggest battle is the mental stamina to keep pushing on.

Hope is a long road. It’s not always straight, but thank the Lord, He put folks in our path to help along the way.

Thanks to all of you who’ve helped me along the path. And thank  you wise Scoutmaster for showing that the journey can be fun.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Appreciation, Hope, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hope is a Long Road

  1. Alice Lynn says:

    I’ve been catching up on your blogs and as a result, have a greater appreciation for you 🙂 as well as the subjects you write about. Climbing that mountain, one foot in front of the other! Mountains have always been metaphors. From the Bible, “I look to the mountains from whence cometh my help” and “How beautiful upon the mountain are the feet of my beloved” (hopefully that’s an accurate quote) and then to songs, “The Hills of Home” and Lerner and Lowe’s “Climb Every Mountain.” Thinking of your piece on hope, I see how appropriate it is to put them together; the road home, named Hope, leads us across the mountain. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Roxie says:

    I was with you right up to the point where you said that carrying a 40 lb pack for 50 miles can be fun. Then I suffered a severe intellectual disconnect. If you just keep on keeping on, it can be possible, but – fun? Nope, I keep trying to put that word with the image and it just keeps sliding away. If I mix up the letters a bit – it COULD be ufn. Or nfu. But not fun.

    Yes, hope is a long road. And what a useful metaphor that is! Any pleasant rest stops? Do you have to pay a toll? Is there a speed limit? 18 wheelers trying to run you down? Country/western songs titled, “I’m just roadkill on the road of hope.” Scenic bypasses?

    You are SO thought provoking! Thank you!

    How long did your tattoo last?

    Like

  3. Rob says:

    It always amazes me how far you can travel when you just keep putting one foot in front of the other, and keep having fun. Enjoy the journey!

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

