Canning Moonshine

by Zest-pk

by Zest-pk

Yes, even though I haven’t posted for most of the summer, I’m still laboring while others are sleeping.

Tonight the kitchen is abuzz with activity.

A three-layered metal contraption called a steamer is percolating on the stove top.  The Swedish genuis who designed it created a method to split open the cells of fruit with heat, and siphon their juicy goodness.

I’ve beaten the wicked deer to the Concords this year. 5-gallon buckets of grapes line up next to the stove, awaiting their turn in the steamer.    I drain the boiling purple juice into big half-gallon jars and listen for the lids to “Ping”, indicating they’ve sealed. It takes about an hour for each batch.

Even though it’s 2 in the  morning when I finish,  I trek the stems and collapsed grape skins outside to the compost pile.  (Fruit flies…blah)

The air is crisp from the first chilly snap of the season. Leaves litter the ground. Orion has returned to the sky after his summer vacation. The faint light of a half-moon illuminates curlicues of steam ghosting off the pot of spent grapes I carry.

It’s a night to remember. Late nights are like that…when you think no one is awake, and you have the stars and quietness all to yourself.

Just as Dandelion wine evokes images of long sunny days, each jar of grape juice, will fill my cloud-ridden winter with crisp autumn nights and the waning moon of summer. I’m really canning moon shine.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Appreciation, Hope, Sleepless Nights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Canning Moonshine

  1. Lisa Nowak says:

    I admire your ability to stay up so late. I conk out after about 11:00. No wonder you’re so productive!

    Like

  2. Alice Lynn says:

    Just back from a week in San Francisco and freshly amazed at the autumn colors that seem to rival New England’s glory. Good to know you’re back on job, putting up moonshine for the winter.

    Like

  3. And I am extremely happy to see someone else blogging again besides Roxie and me!!!!
    Welcome back!! Now, maybe you can write a first date story like I did on my blog?! So far I do not think anyone else has beaten my story!! Though Roxie shouting out “birdie” is close! LOL

    Like

  4. Oh gosh! I can remember my mother getting together with a neighbor lady who grew 2 kinds of grapes (delicious right off the vine!) and they would spend a couple days making jelly!! We kids had the job of picking the grapes, taking them off the bunches, getting rid of anything not a grape from the bowls and then helping to wash them. I would wash some in the strainer and nibble a few from each washing batch!! I loved the homemade grape jelly–it just had such a better flavor than store bought. I think that was all the love that went into it.

    Like

  5. Roxie says:

    And yet, you do not look ravaged or debauched in the least. All those late nights with the potent brew should take a toll, and you don’t even look baggy-eyed. You must live right!

    I have missed your posts, and the poetry of your writing. SO glad to see you back!

    My quiet night happens at 5AM when I go outside to get the paper. The nip in the air, the stars (when you can see them) the touch of rain on the face (or the drenching downpour) and occasionally, the neighbors passing by with dogs . . . it’s a seperate world from the warm and cozy place indoors.

    Like

  6. digipicsphotography says:

    Don’t you just love being outside at night where it’s quite and you can enjoy the stars and moon. It’s so peaceful. I love it.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

