Front Row Seats If You Answer the Call

The phone rang at 12:30 am.

Two rings. It jolted me upright. But when I picked it up, there was only a dial tone.

Probably a wrong number.  Maybe someone grabbed the caller’s phone and shut it off, exclaiming, “Good heavens. Don’t call them at this hour!” Maybe.

Possibly,  it was bad news. A heart attack. An accident. My mind flits to a friend. When her uncle died at 3 am, her husband took the phone away from her, saying her uncle would be just as dead at 9 am; why make folks fret about it in the middle of the night. Let everybody get some sleep.

I rooted back down in my covers, making a nest out of sheets and pillows, getting it tucked in just so at the sides.

The phone rang again.

My arm shot toward the receiver like a yo-yo.

The raucaus laughter of teenagers sounded from the other end.  Then “shh’s” and giggles. I hung up without  saying a word.

My sleep is a fragile thing, like a shadow that I can’t catch. My mind spiraled to my juvie phone pranks.  Like calling the National Gambling Association and telling them, “I bet 50 bucks I can end my gambling problem by the start of next week.”  I was glad I wasn’t 16 and hilarious anymore. Half and hour passed.

I could hear a barking dog. I wondered how far away he was. What was he grousing about?  Images of skunks and  raccoons on night raids filled my mind. An hour winked away.

I got up and padded outside, wrapped in a blanket.

A full moon reigned over the sky. The earth like a stage, lay waiting in silvery-blue light.  The faintest breeze carried star song from the passing constellations.   Fine white crystals spider-webbed across pumpkins and leaves. The first frost of fall.

I smile. Maybe it wasn’t a prank call. Perhaps it was the signal to let me know intermission was over. The second act of the seasons had begun.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Appreciation, Hope, Sleepless Nights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Front Row Seats If You Answer the Call

  1. Alice Lynn says:

    How inspiring to read how you turned an agravating and worrisome event inside out to find star song and beauty inside. I’ll try to remember that the next time a wrong number or prankster wakes me in the night.

    Like

  2. Lisa Nowak says:

    A beautiful testimonial to both nighttime and fall.

    Like

  3. Barb says:

    Les,
    What kind words. I am humbled. Thank you.

    Like

  4. Les says:

    As long as there are still a few people in the world who can write the way you do, it will still be worth having eyesight good enough to read. I’m glad to know you, Barb. Thank you for the beautiful prose. I’ll be sure to keep my next optometrist appointment.

    Like

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    Hey Barb, I’m starting a series on how to knit…just in case you want to try it. 🙂

    Like

  6. Roxie says:

    Someone else might have stayed in bed getting more and more angry and being grumpy for hours. You turned it into a blessing. What a gift you have!

    Like

  7. digipicsphotography says:

    Because of a prank call, you were able to witness natures splendor. How fortunate for you.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

