Hope is Taking a Second Look

I have this habit of reacting as soon as I hear something.  You know it always merits a second look.

It takes me time to shoulder a new habit, policy, or anything involving change.

I find when I stop and look at something from all angles, I usually come away with a different perspective…especially in dealing with people.

Most people are good when you finally see them.                                            Atticus Finch; To Kill a Mockingbird

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Appreciation, Hope, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hope is Taking a Second Look

  1. Lisa Nowak says:

    Barb, I do the same thing, particularly when it comes to reactions to my writing. I’ve found that I can’t turn off the voice that screams, “you’re wrong” but I can force it to remain silently in my head rather than spewing its opinion to the world. After a day or two, once I’ve had time to reconsider, I usually find some truth within the comments and use them to improve my writing.

    Change in other areas is unsettling as well. You get so used to your routine that you feel naked and lost without it. But if you embrace change, it soon becomes part of a new routine that can also offer comfort.

    Like

  2. Barb says:

    Thanks, Les, for the good words. I can always count on you to have a pull-up-your-bootstraps-and-try-again attitude.

    Meanwhile…I’ll just work on breathing.

    Like

  3. Barb says:

    I agree Roxie, Wolf-time does deserve more detail. Maybe next week.

    Like

  4. Les says:

    Taking a second look, or 3rd or 4th, is always a good thing to do, in any situation. Slow down and look intently, with our eyes open and our mouths shut.

    There is a saying in Tibetan, “Tragedy should be utilized as a source of strength.”
    No matter what sort of difficulties, how painful experience is, if we lose our hope, that’s our real disaster. (Those are the words of the Dalai Lama.)

    As you know, I have been unemployed for over 8 months, while constantly looking for a job. But that doesn’t mean there’s not a job waiting for me around the corner. So with that in mind, I’m headed around the corner. Thanks for the reminder to take another look.

    Another thing… none of us like change! But it’s so good for us. Look what happens to a pool of water if it remains motionless… it becomes stagnant. The older we get, the better it is for us to be shaken up a bit. We may not like spinning around with change, but when we stop and open our eyes, we’ll be in a brand new world, to make of it what we will.

    So chin up, Barb, and eyes wide open. Every breathing second of our lives gives us the opportunity to see and choose hope. ~ Les

    Like

  5. Roxie says:

    So what situations are you taking a second look at? Comments posted at 1:30 am deserve a bit more detail. That’s “wolf time” and brings all the bleakest thoughts.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

