Choices: The 4-H Kid and the Pizza Cynic

Wow! Thanks for your feedback everybody. Here’s why I need you.

I told my brother I was trying out random (okay, substitute the word spontaneous) acts of kindness this week to see if it made any difference in my life or anyone else’s.

He laughed so hard he could hardly speak.  His exact words were: “For one week?”

Well, okay…I guess my Mother Teresa gene hasn’t fully developed. I was thinking that I would do things for others that were spur of the moment, and maybe even things that take me out of my comfort range.

So, when a kid came to the door and wanted Cowboy Fan to buy a coupon card for Pizza Hut and I heard him say “No,” because we’re trying to lose the fudge and cheeseballs we’ve packed around our hips during Christmas, I thought this was my “spontaneous chance.”

I bounced to the door and gave her $10 bucks for her 4-H fundraiser pizza card.

“What are we going to do with that?” Cowboy Fan asked. Not only do we not need pizzas, it was coupons to buy 12  large and get 12 medium FREE!

“I don’t know.” I shrugged and tossed it on my desk where a lot of good intentions lay, waiting to be filed or activated. Throughout the day, I’d glance at it and shake my head. I don’t know what I was expecting from this “spontaneous kindness” experiment. As Lisa pointed out, I’ll probably never know what ripples it creates.

And then Scout saw the card.  With only the zeal that a young man with a bottomless stomach can muster, he exclaimed, “We are so using EVERY ONE of these. This is GREAT!”

Okay. That wasn’t the result I was expecting. But it was a result. Interesting. Now I’m curious to see what will happen the rest of the week.

Thanks for checking in everyone. This will be really interesting to see what a group of people sending random/spontaneous good deeds out into the universe will change.

Roxie, did you notice any difference in yourself or the world after you mailed your kindness? Lisa, it must have been pizza-kindness day yesterday, and yes, I think even the smallest kindness counts. We’re making an extra effort to shoot more good surprises into the world this week and see if it matters.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Choices, Hope, Life, Smiles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Choices: The 4-H Kid and the Pizza Cynic

  1. Barb says:

    Oh Roxie, We’re competing for that selfish title. It’s one of those pageants I don’t want to win, but find myself entering the contest each day. I’m display “lazy techniques” for my talent.

    Like

  2. Lisa Nowak says:

    Ah, Roxie, you crack me up. Selfish bitch at heart. Heh.

    Like

  3. Roxie says:

    Did it do anything for me? Well, it gave me something to brag about. “I’m so generous. I stood and listened to a worried woman for half an hour.”

    It affirmed my belief that I’m a kind woman. It put some good into my karma balance. It made my errand-running take half an hour longer. Did I get a warm glow and a spiritual uplift? Did angels sprinkle happy glitter on me? Yes, a bit. Doing good leaves me feeling good – to a greater or lesser extent. If it wasn’t worth it, I wouldn’t do it. I’m a selfish bitch at heart.

    Like

  4. Barb says:

    That’s pretty amazing Roxie. So you must be putting out some invisible vibe that says “You can talk to me.”
    You’re amazing.
    Now tell me, it helped her get things into perspective, did it do anything for you, too? Just wondering.

    Like

  5. Roxie says:

    I stopped at my local mail depot to get a stamp (since the postoffices were closed yesterday) and the gal at the desk used me as a sounding board for about half an hour as she tried to decide if she should have back surgery or not. She just needed someone to listen. Often, women need to process their thoughts out loud. We don’t always know what we think till we hear it. Husbands want to fix the problem, not hear about it. Mothers know what you should do, whether it’s right for you or not. She didn’t arrive at a solution, but she got things into better perspective.

    Like

  6. Barb says:

    See, Lisa…why didn’t I think of that? I think because I was expecting to get some reward or righteous feeling about doing good. HA HA. The joke’s on me, the wave of the reward hit my kid (and the 4-Her). It’s interesting to see how this whole thing floats through the universe.

    Like

  7. Lisa Nowak says:

    Okay, right now I want to do a non-random act of meanness to your brother. Specifically, kick him in his patootie. What the heck is HE doing that makes him one to judge you? Is he some freakin’ saint, dedicating his every waking hour to helping the world?

    I think it’s hilarious that your kid was psyched about the coupon. He totally made me think of my character, Cody. And anyway, you could always just leave that coupon on some table at the college or something and get a 2-for-one on random acts of kindness for the day.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

