Choices: If Opportunites were Snakes, I’d Be Bitten All Over

by Guerilla Futures

It was pretty cool that I didn’t even have to leave my house to look for a chance to do a random/spontaneous kindness yesterday.

So I thought I’d test the universe, and see if an opportunity fell into my lap today. I worked out at the gym in the morning. Nothing presented itself.

A friend called and wanted to meet for lunch, but I’d just eaten and was going to the nursing home at 2. Cowboy Fan and Scout wanted to meet me at the movies at 4.

Yeah, I know visiting a friend in a nursing home is a kindness, it’s just that I was testing the universe to see if it would lay a surprise choice in front of me. As the day went by, I became more desperate. Surely if an opportunity dropped in my lap yesterday, the world would spin out a chance to do an unplanned good deed today.

So like Lisa (yesterday), as the day went by, I became more desperate to find an opportunity. Nothing. This evening, the handicapped lady in the wheel chair at Albertson’s didn’t even want help getting her groceries into the trunk. And when I polled my family to see what kindnesses they could use, the answer was: “Nothing.” and “Not now, I’m doing homework.” So  it seemed the universe had conspired against me.  All chances to help had slammed shut.

Then it dawned on me. An opportunity had presented itself, and I’d turned it down. The friend who wanted to go to lunch— I’m sure she needed to talk since she’s going through a rough time in her life. It wouldn’t have taken much effort to move things around and see her.  I realize now, that I could have made it all happen. But I didn’t. We did chat on the phone, but you know that’s just not the same.

I wonder how many other opportunties I missed?

To Recap:

  • Day 1: The results of a Random Act of Kindness are interesting, but not predictable
  • Day 2: I will be presented with RAKs, and being open to others’ needs may help me to see them.

How’s the experiment going for others. Any difference in the Universe, yet?

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Appreciation, Choices, Hope, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Choices: If Opportunites were Snakes, I’d Be Bitten All Over

  1. Barb says:

    Yeah, ladies. This missed opportunity is interesting. It has to do with the choices we make, I think. And as Roxie is so deft at recognizing opportunities, unlike me who let them sail right past. It makes me think of Cap’n Jack Sparrow’s comment:
    “If you were looking for the right time to tell her how you felt—that was it.”

    Like

  2. Lisa Nowak says:

    I was in a totally fog, trying to make my 10,000-words-in-a-week goal, and the mist didn’t clear until I came back from my walk. At that point I saw Bob carrying the vacuum downstairs from the office to take it into the house.
    “Oh, man, I was gonna vacuum for you as a random act of kindness,” I said.
    Bob laughed.
    “Do you need any laundry done?”
    “Nah, I did it yesterday. But I appreciate the offer.”
    So I completely blew it, unless you can count giving my husband a chuckle a random act of kindness. Oh, crap, I could have giving him a foot rub. Maybe I’ll do two RAKs today to make up the deficit.

    Like

  3. Roxie says:

    Oh my gosh, Barb, I woke up today and it was a brand new universe! All fresh and clean and ready to go. Of course, it’s a brand new universe every time I wake up, so today was no different from any other day. But that. in no way, mitigates its wonder and glory.

    Opportunities for kindness don’t need to be big. Tell someone they look nice or that you like their hair or their shoes or shirt. Give full eye-contact and a heartfelt thanks to your barista. For them, that will be a truely random act. Ooo, or pay for the next customer at the drive-through. That’s really random because you will have NO idea what comes of it. Or ask Medical Teams International what you can do to help. Answer phones, pack supplies, run pick-up and delivery? I’m not that generous yet, but it’s an option.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

