Choices: Oh That I Had a Thousand Voices

We Conclude the Week’s Discussion of CHOICES:

I wrote this post, then deleted it last night.

I rewrote it because, I thought the conclusion to a week of  choices about kindness deserves simple language:

If we were perfect, we would never socialize. There would be no pull or reason because our perfect selves could supply exactly what we need.

But wisely, each of us were made with some talents, skills, or gifts and missing others.  Our kindnesses are the exchange of support, advice, and time which keep everything balanced.

Sure  there are those who choose to take too much, or not give at all. Even then, this magnificent system weaves others into the fabric to help with the healing.

If I needed any further proof, all I have to do is look at you all this week. I had a great need to know if choosing to listen to a stranger, give up time to give someone a ride, or do a favor made a difference.

You all supported me in the experiments and helped me look for answers. Thank you. Your words and works were kindnesses. Proof that when a need arises, other talents are pulled toward it.

Oh, that I had a thousand voices to tell you what a mysterious,  throbbing, truly alive network our kindnesses weave.  We have been crafted to need each other.  Like the locking of puzzle pieces, our simple gifts to each other create a whole.  I’ve been blessed to witness the pieces inexorably coming together this week.

For this I say, “Namaste” (I salute the spirit within in you)  and…

“Thanks be to God.”

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Appreciation, Choices, Enough, Hope, Life, Sleepless Nights and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Choices: Oh That I Had a Thousand Voices

  1. Lisa Nowak says:

    “If we were perfect, we would never socialize. There would be no pull or reason because our perfect selves could supply exactly what we need.”

    Intriguing idea. I’ll have to think on that.

    And Roxie, I hope Carla and her husband aren’t reading this blog. 🙂

    Like

  2. Roxie says:

    Consideration of choices and kindnesses seems to have brought you joy. I dance for your happiness and raise my voice with yours. And I have LOVED the opportunity to philosophize with you. Are you sure a week is long enough? I am thinking, for example, when I have a hard moral choice (Do I tell Carla that I saw her husban hug another woman?) How to decide? I have learned to ask, “What would you least like to do?” (With Carla and her husband, I should mind my own business.) I DO know right from wrong. I don’t always WANT to do the RIGHT thing. (I never liked Carla’s husband. He’s so boring!) That’s usually when I get all indecisive. If the right thing is something I want to do anyhow, then there’s no inner moral debate.

    How do YOU make those choices?

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

