Writing the Banana Lies

MOSQUITOES ARE ATTRACTED TO PEOPLE WHO HAVE RECENTLY EATEN BANANAS

That’s what a recent email told me. So if I’ll stay away from their banana-ey goodness, can I expect to be welt-free all summer?  I suspect this propaganda  was started by the apple or kiwi industry.

Scientist have proven the family of plantains have little effect on attracting or repelling insect suckers.  (Nor do dryer sheets, Lemon Joy, and Skin-so-Soft.)

My in-box is full of helpful, stupid advice which is much like fiction writing in its most  basic form: simple, believable lies.

There are video instructions on how to lie (isn’t the internet amazing??? Who needs college or relationships?)  I’ll summarize to save the dent on your soul for reading it:

1. Get your events straight

2. Include details

3. Combine the lie with the truth.

4. Make your lies believable

Sounds like the makings of a novel or at least flash fiction.  Probably the best piece of advice was to get a book on How To Spot A Liar.  It’s an encyclopedia of fidgety finger movements, eye focus, and never showing your palms.  Perfect gestures for a story’s slippery characters.

Our reader’s brain takes in all the cues we insert and comes to a conclusion to believe or not. Hopefully, we’ve built a world they believe in…even the lies.

So…of course our mosquito would like bananas. It’s believable because we LOVE the yellow fruit. They’re good for everything from PMS to constipation…unfortunately they’re also slightly radioactive. Believe me.

Or is it a lie?

(I’ll tell you tomorrow.)

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Choices, writer, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Writing the Banana Lies

  1. Pingback: That lying fruit!!!! « Before Morning Breaks

  2. Lisa Nowak says:

    I used to watch that show about the guy who could spot liars (can’t remember the name now) but it got boring. Still, the concept intrigues me. I’d love to take a class in body language. It would be great info for a writer.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Increase Your Average. Plant Your Lips on It « Before Morning Breaks

  4. momaescriva says:

    Sure, you eat a banana, the mosquito can smell that banana-ana on you and wham! They attack. In my case, they don’t care what I’ve eaten or if there is some kind of scent, they zero in on me…they like me, I guess.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Moma, I think if you’d drink more alcohol, it would thin your blood like antifreeze. It may not stop them from biting you, but at least you’d get a kick out of watching them fly funny.

      Like

  5. Beth says:

    Like breaking your arm skateboarding? Sure, I’ll believe six impossible things before breakfast, if told with authority and details. Which is why Fantasy works. Or Sci Fi. Or adventure/romance/mysteries. All lies, but we love them, and while in that world believe every word.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Yeah, Beth. I read somewhere that the most effective politicians include the truth, but simply tweak it in the direction they need for it to twist.

      Like

  6. Forget the bananas–Skin-So-Soft doesn’t work to repell mosquitoes?! Oh those tricksy Avon representatives!

    Like

  7. LOL Well, I will continue to eat my bananas, radioactive or not! I need the potassium!

    Like

  8. Alice Lynn says:

    Well, if you can’t trust a banana, who can you trust? Wait a minute. That’s not the question, is it? I’m guessing we tend to trust the lies we want to hear.

    Like

  9. Roxie says:

    The most important part of telling a believable lie is to believe it yourself. If you believe it, so will I.

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

