Things I Said Goodbye to in September

It takes all summer to squeeze a tomato out of bush here in Oregon.  I’m hoping for an Indian summer, but without it…so long mater crop.

Picking blackberries growing in matted, skyscraping mounds along most roads in Oregon is a freebie.  So are the worms.  I’ll remember the scratches, bee stings, and thank the Lord snakes don’t hang in the bushes like they do in Oklahoma. Ta Ta. Cheerio. Pip Pip.

A warm summer  glow warms my cockles and there’s comfort when  the On-Your-Honor flower stand appears on the road.  I’m sure a few jars and bouquets walk away with unscrupulous losers who step up from dandelion-picking to take a five-finger discount….but each morn, new flowers appear, trusting in mankind. It’s been wonderful. I’ll laugh about our times together forever…well…at least until next summer.

Second-Chance strawberries!!! This agricultural phenom occurs when Oregon weather gets so screwed up, plants think it’s spring again and birth another round of fruit.  Alas…most of the blooms will drown, mold, or rot in the upcoming weeks, but thanks for the last ditch effort.  We had a fun run while it lasted.

Good-bye Moles. Rain, Cold, nor the tilt of the earth affect you, but Super-Trapper vowed to come after you like a spider monkey on a louse. Adios to the 15 piles of dirt in my lawn.  All I can say to you digging vermin is: Keep your head down.

September brings the start of a new school year.  Sweet good-byes of launching new adventures and memories of times shared.

Scout left for college.

Take care. I wish you wonders. Be happy.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Appreciation, Choices, Enough, Life, Smiles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Things I Said Goodbye to in September

  1. Pingback: Why Doesn’t Freddie Kruger Have These Problems? | Before Morning Breaks

  2. Rai says:

    Soo….

    I hear you have warm cockles.

    Like

  3. pegoleg says:

    I get on my cheerleader outfit each evening, and go out to shout encouragement to the 2, tiny green tomatoes on my wilting plant. “You can do it! Big and red before the frost…go team!” I only got 2 off of it all summer, so I’m desperate. Do you think cartwheels would help?

    Like

    • Barb says:

      You’re a hoot. I believe you’re on to something, and perhaps the cartwheels will scare away the foul deer (However, they can jump really high…so don’t be intimidated).

      Like

  4. dan gist says:

    Couldn’t get my email working. From close observation watching my wife make chili, it’s made out of ingredients. Just kidding I’ll see if I can find the recipe.

    Like

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    Wish we had blackberries that big here! They look yummy!

    Like

  6. momaescriva says:

    And time goes by just as fast as reading your remembrances. Nicely done, Barb!

    Like

  7. Linda Myers says:

    Goodbye to long days of light, blackberry picking, the hope of green tomatoes having a chance to ripen, overlarge squash on the kitchen counter, children shrieking in the sprinkers.
    Hello to soaking rain, the morning greeting of the furnace, evenings with a good book, the morning light box.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      @ Linda…what great sounds to look forward to. I’ll only admit to you that I sometimes look forward to the rain. On the exterior, I’m all huffy with “What is this constant drizzle?”

      @Moma. Is time running faster now. Seems so. Thanks.

      Like

  8. Margie says:

    I’m enjoying your writing. I’ve linked to your blog in a post called Networking – Awards and Challenges. I won’t be offended if you decide not to take up the Challenge!

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Wow Margie. This is like a compliment with homework. Okay, I’ll get started on it and thanks for the shout out. Y’all go on over and look at Margie’s post. She’s got some great writing and networking help.

      Like

  9. Les says:

    And from the Oklahoma side of town, goodbye to a record number of days above 100º, months without rain, and yards with nothing but blustery straw dying of thirst under no-watering bans. But then again, even hotter than blue blazes, there’s still something wonderful about summers in OkieLand. It’s relaxing to watch the wind rippling across Lake Texoma, even if blue-green algae makes it unsafe to put even your foot in one ounce of the 89,000 acres of off-limit water, let alone eat the fish you thought you might bring home. This summer did, however, offer me a vintage 1972 Schwinn Super Sport 10-speed on Craigs’ List, which I gratefully accepted. A short 3 mile ride the other day made me wonder, do those saddles just get tougher, or do 55 year old butts just get softer? (I know the answer, thank you.) But oh, to be a kid again enjoying a ride in the park. Fantastic. Thanks for the summer, 2011. See you in 2012. Come back soon. 😀

    See Barb, you avoided a few “glad-I-wasn’t-there” moments, but all in all, it’s still a great place to call home. Oregon may have you now, but Oklahoma misses you. Let’s compare notes when the temperature drops. 😉

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Oklahoma is still home in my heart. It’s the kind of state only a native could love. Heat. Tornados. Chiggars. Snakes.
      But the people…they are grand!! Ki-yippee-yeo-ee-ay!
      Thanks for the update on Lake Texhoma. That’s amazing that it was off-limits. It’s also a tragedy. Some of my fondest times were on the coves of that lake.

      Like

  10. That sky in your header is gob smackingly beautiful.
    We are just starting into spring, but at the end of our summer similar things will happen. Except that our council (may they rot in hell) sprays the blackberry bushes with poison each year, after they have flowered, and before the fruit is ripe. Yes I know it is a noxious weed, but fresh blackberries are divine. Worth risking the snakes for.
    I make chutneys and relishes with the last of the tomatoes. And don’t home grown ‘matos leave their store bought brethren for dead.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      They spray here, too. So we leave signs along the roadside: DO NOT SPRAY. there’s so many, the county has stopped a lot of it’s spraying….or maybe they ran out of money. Are you making chutneys with the green tomatoes? I grew up with fried green tomatoes. I’d rather fry oreos and eat them.

      Like

      • I make a green tomato chutney and, if there is an excess (which there often is by the end of the season) a ripe tomato chutney. However it is still a little cold to plant tomatoes yet – we will probably get more frosts. Soon.

        Like

  11. Elisabeth Miles says:

    I squose a few a few tomaters out of September, but still have dozens waiting in the wings for some warm October sun. I really don’t want to fry any green ones.

    Like

  12. dan gist says:

    Just so you know I never do that kind of thing, Mine is mostly a comedy blog. My sister went to nursing school in Oklahoma and came back with a great accent. I’m a Texas escapee and we can’t understand a word the other says, and our parents can’t understand either of us.(Just commenting on your accent comment.) Sure enjoy your blog. Dan

    Like

  13. Alice Lynn says:

    Barb, what you said is so lovely. I wish my September was that sweet. Right now I’ll be glad when its over. But that’s right now. Maybe I’ll be more cheerful before October rolls around.

    Like

  14. Aw, sweet goodbyes! And your post gives me another reminder that my own Scout will be moving on in 2 short years…

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

