The Devil’s Green Beans

Pioneer Friday in Two Pan

Welcome to this Oregon community of the 1850’s. You’re invited to stay…as long as you hate change.

I was suspicious of the green beans from the beginning.

The peddler who came down the road had a squint and a one-earred mule.  That should of  been enough to make me wonder at the value of  his wares.  I bought 5 packets of seed for a penny.  Only one sprouted.  That’s about what I expected.

It was green beans, and they suffered an orphan’s bundle of trouble.  The cursed deer (may they all be eaten by wolves) mowed the plants off when they were ankle-high.   Then a frost nipped the bean ends. But they kept coming back.

Now they’ve turned scary.

I pick a bucket each day, and return the next day to find more green doodles, ripe for picking.  Already, the root cellar is lined with jars of green beans. Neighbors lock their doors when they spot me coming with beans instead of zucchini.  Not even the cursed deer (may they run in front of a thousand arrows) slow the abundance.  After eating their fill, they lie next to the plants, burping and rubbing their bellies with their hooves, and yet  more and more beans hang off vines than before.

I’m not sure if this is the work of devils or angels. Roxie Poley, the German gal that lives east of us, told me to pull the plants up and shake their roots at the sun. She’s a little strange in her beliefs. What do you expect? Her husband traps bears for a living.

Of course, it  would be a sin to let good food go to waste like that even though my fingers are green from snapping.

I’m hoping for a really early frost.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Humor, Pioneer Friday in Two Pan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Devil’s Green Beans

  1. Orice Klaas says:

    “They sure look good in the jars and they’ll taste mighty good this winter”, my mom always told us back in the early days.

    Like

  2. Beth says:

    Now green beans are a gift fro…somewhere. when raspberry season was over one year (back whe kids were allowed to pick), I decided to try ny hand at beans. Big mistake. Those pesky pole climbers fought back. After a day and a half my hands and arms swelled up double. And itched. And oozed. I never went back.

    Like

  3. Roxie Matthews says:

    Need an extra picker? I’m trainable.

    Like

  4. digipicsphotography says:

    I love green beans too. But I would be on the lookout for an extra large stalk that seemed to disappear into the sky. Avoid it!

    Like

  5. Alice Lynn says:

    Oh how it takes me back to them thar days, when even bad luck could provide a good story. Hey, what am I saying? Those beans are probably kin to Jack’s magic beans and you know how that turned out! Point me to the bean stalk. 🙂

    Like

  6. momaescriva says:

    I LOVE green beans. I’ll take any you want to part with!

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

