Thanks, Toyota, Fur the Adventure

Here’s a unique change. Not only am I enjoying my Toyota, I’m thrilled to support a company that takes such pride in creating a habitat for the lower mammals of the earth.  Thanks to  their expert engineering, I’ve discovered the vehicle is a wonderful breeding structure for mice.

While they don’t have the white-gloved hands and booties of Mickey, they do provide all sorts of adventure.

I’ve learned to S-curve through traffic lanes like Vin Diesel in a drug chase—and still maintain control—when one of the furry little fellas skitters across my lap. Some folks pay big bucks for driving schools to gain the same skills. Hah!  They should get a Toyota.

Previously, I’d toss a winter emergency kit in the car and forget about it, but with the Toyota Mouse Add-On, I’m reminded to check supplies frequently in order to restock the Luna Bars and shake the mouse droppings out of the chewed blankets.  While I’m at it, I check the flashlight batteries—which are okay because the vermin can’t chew through the handle, but thank goodness for the mousy reminder.

Of course, the cabin air filter has to be changed more often because this is the prime nesting spot to raise babies.  It’s also the central intersection of air flow evenly distributing that tangy essence of mouse wee with an undertone of damp fur. At $30 a pop, that’s small cheese to pay for the wild scent of living in a mouse hole.

I realize Toyota must ignore the numerous websites and forums yammering about this problem.  It would cost entirely too much to expend the 20 cents it costs for screening.  Besides, the company knows how Americans love to tinker with their cars, prying off the fenderwells and door panels in order to mouseproof the vents ourselves. It makes the car DIY interactive.

Because Kitty is ill, the best thing I’ve learned about the Toyota Mouse House is:  How to handle snakes. Digipicsphotography tells me letting a reptile snoop around when parked in the garage puts a big kink in rodent traffic. But adding a snake as a passenger is a real plus. The reptile LOVES the heated seats (how thoughtful of the company). And he keeps the car mousefree.  One of the added benefits…I don’t even have to lock the car when the snake is curled up on seat.

Keep up the great engineering for animals, Toyota.

WIN-WIN for Everyone!

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Cars, Choices, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Thanks, Toyota, Fur the Adventure

  1. Dor says:

    Ooooooh – I have a Toyota! No mice or snakes yet, but I will be on the alert now. ‘Tis a funny, scary post and I enjoyed every word. I especially love the line,” I’ve learned to S-curve through traffic lanes like Vin Diesel in a drug chase—and still maintain control…”

    Like

  2. I lost a VW Vanagan I was trying to sell because of a mouse (?) nest I discovered in a back corner of the engine compartment. (Was it a mouse? squirrel? Some neatnik animal left no pellets to analyze). I removed the nest and hosed out the corner but got some water on the engine. The father of the guy who had promised to buy the van came by, looked at the car without knocking, and thought there was a leak into the engine compartment. Sale gone, couldn’t contact him, had to leave to meet the moving van, abandoned car. Sad.

    Like

  3. Orice Klaas says:

    Your humor amazes and amuses all of us. What a gift you are to the writing world!

    Like

  4. pegoleg says:

    This is cracking me up and grossing me out in just about equal measure. I’ve never heard this. Please tell me the Rav4 is immune. Please???

    Like

  5. dearrosie says:

    What is it about the Toyota engine that encourages animals to sleep in the engine. A friend in Canada had mucho trouble with squirrels living in her car.
    Do Toyota suggest that a plastic snake would scare off real mice?

    Like

  6. Storm Rider says:

    Wow! You are quite brave to handle a snake the way you did!

    “One of the added benefits…I don’t even have to lock the car when the snake is curled up on seat.” – lol..You got that right!..
    … I would never go near a car with a snake in it..! hehe

    Like

  7. That was funny Barb. I would be so wrapped around a pole, if anything jumped at me while driving. No Vin Diesel skills here, lol!

    Like

  8. Rose L says:

    I never have had any mice or snake problems. But I do drive a Dodge. My boss always complains of mice in her Toyota as well and she lives in S. Salem.
    My mom once had a cat climb into her engine to keep warm and one early morn when she got in and started it up, she heard a horrible noise and the car died…as well as the cat, killed by a belt in the engine. Took a tow to 3 different garages before finding one to work on it. Do you blame them???
    Now she always bangs on her vehicle hood to warn any feline warming themselves.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Good idea, Rose. You know this is probably an entire post in itself. Thanks for the reminder that on chilly mornings, there could be a creature under the hood (besides my &^@!!$ mice).
      Makes me wonder if they charged your boss extra to work around the cat on her carburetor. So sad.

      Like

  9. I’m not a fan of either snakes or mice and would probably wreck if one or the other made its presence known. My definition of luxury vehicle just changed to ‘vermin free’!

    Like

    • Barb says:

      That’s great. This is a blog about change…and you’ve already changed your idea about extravagant transportation. I’m guessing German engineering was designed with varmints in mind because I’ve never heard of Benz Mice. I had a friend who had a Benz raccoon…but that’s a whole ‘nother blog with an expensive ending.

      Like

  10. Frugal in WV says:

    We have a Toyota, but I hate mice! My cat just killed one in my kitchen yesterday and I spent the whole evening cleaning like mad. I literally threw it outside by its tail because I didn’t want to touch it 🙂 If I found one in my car I would not do well! Love your blog, your sense of humor is great!

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Thanks Frugal. Now…I missed class the day they were handing out anatomy degrees, but if you grabbed its bitty tail…isn’t that the same as touching it? When Dan (see his comment below), sends me the Kevlar pants catalog, I’ll see if they have some Long Reach Mouse Tongs, I’ll order a pair for you and me. Do you want your initials on yours?

      Like

    • Barb says:

      Man the alarms. Send in animal control. AAAA—OOOO—GA. The mice or the snake got to her before she could finish a sentence.

      She was a good gal. (A moment of silence, please…..).

      Okay. That’s enough. Ah…em… er….can I have her car?

      Like

  11. Roxie Matthews says:

    Kyle suggests that you have the car fumigated,then check all the wiring. Mice love to chew on wires.

    Like

  12. I would have the multitudes of mice in preference to snakes any day. Though mice are truly ungrateful (the one I rescued from the cat bit me) they do not turn me an attractive grey colour with fear. Mice bite and smell, snakes bite and kill (here anyway). Seems like a no-brainer to me.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Leave it to you and your Aussie wisdom, EC to put it all in perspective. It seems that Oz has more things that bite, sting, and kill you than the bitty mice that danced around my car listening to me curse at them.

      Like

      • Aren’t we blessed (not). I believe that of the ten most venomous snakes in the world we have seven of them. Or possibly eight. We have funnel web and red back spiders. We have blue-ringed ocotopii. On the other hand we have kangas, koalas, wombats and echnidna. And drop-bears (google them) who only maim the terminally stupid. Its a weird mixture, but it is ours.

        Like

        • Barb says:

          Must be all that righteous living that you’re doing. You’re rewarded with lots of interesting species. Keep up the good work and keep the snakes over there.

          Like

  13. winsomebella says:

    This gives new meaning to the term distracted driver……

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Well, after posting this, I’ve learned about spiders, mice, snakes, and a whole zoo of problems that infest those cars out there. I may just take the bus for a while.

      Like

  14. You’ve sold me on never owning a Toyota. The first time a mouse appeared anywhere in the car, I’d be out the door regardless of how fast it was going. Unless, of course, I died of a heart attack.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Myra, you’d know you’d be screaming so loud, it would shock your heart into warrior-mode. With as much traveling as you do…you might find travel mice good company? If not…drop them at one of those colorful historical Texas mile markers you delight us with.

      Like

  15. dan says:

    Had squirrels chew up my wiring once; that was expensive, but haven’t had a snake yet. I promise you, I would have a totaled car if I saw one of those at my feet. I’ll be wearing snake boots and Kevlar overalls now when I drive for a while. Thanks a lot.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Dan…you’re just the supplier I’m looking for. Where can I find a pair of those Kevlar overalls? I’d like sequins down the side like sergeant stripes. (Why not make a fashion statement while protecting life and limb?)
      And squirrels???? That’s another blog. Those little devils are just bushy-tailed rats. They kept gnawing into Grandma’s attic (until she stowed a case of mothballs up there.)

      Like

  16. Arindam says:

    I never ever thought this could also happen to car. Still you must have done a research on it, before writing this post. By the way you are a brave person for sure, who has the ability to deal with snakes. But i am really afraid of this creature of god! 🙂

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Arindam, the research I did kept running over my feet and lap while I screamed. And I’m sorry If I lead you astray. I didn’t mean to lead you on. That snake I’m introducing to the carburetor is rubber. I think the only place an orange snake with blue stripes exists is in James Patterson’s Avatar world. I’m with you….leave snakes alone.

      Like

  17. souldipper says:

    Ewww…Barb! My friend had the same thing happen with her Nissan car. It wasn’t surprising…she carried all kinds of food in the car because she’s a inveterate nibbler. One day I got in the car and the mouse smell was atrocious. Our mutual friend has a pest control business and guided her on disinfecting the carpet and upholstery to remove the urine. The Hantivirus (carried by Deer Mice) is in the urine which is everywhere because mice have no “stop” on their bladder. They are always dribbling! So she needed to disinfect the vehicle thoroughly or find the little buggars some Depends! 😀

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Well….thanks…Soul Dipper.
      That was too much information. Not only did I have mice. (The mothballs and itinerant lop-earred cat seem to be sheriffing the car), but they might be incontinent mice. Great. Start buying stock in Lysol.

      Like

  18. momaescriva says:

    Snakes…they give me the willies. My Toyota Highlander has yet to produce any vermin and I’ve had the car for 9 years.

    Like

  19. We had the same problem with our Toyota. Who knew it was so common?

    Like

    • Barb says:

      That’s the tail twister, Ms. Worrywarts. There are websites of complaints and guys who like to rip apart doors and fenders showing how to jerry-rig a fix.
      Don’t the engineers at Toyota google the car forums to see what people are saying about their cars? You know…just a bit of user input in order to build a better mousetrap?
      Oh phooey. Now I’m all riled up again. I need to go shake that rubber snake at the car.

      Like

  20. Jon says:

    I really hate it when they move into the heater and die. The stink lasts forever.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Jon, you sound like a man of experience. Toyota will gladly tear out the vents and fans and retrieve the putrefied carcass—for a fee. Of course it will happen again. So now I’m using bags of mothballs tied under the hood.
      The garage stinks like Grandmother’s attic, but it seems to keep the mouskers away. Hooray.
      It also keeps out the feral cat, crickets, and even dried leaves seem to avoid my garage.

      Like

  21. Alice Lynn says:

    Barb, ask yourself. What would Bricker do? 🙂

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Ahhh…what would someone from Two Pan in the 1870s do??? Well, that’s a no-brainer.
      Bricker would stick a gun barrel down the heater vents and fire away. It wouldn’t do much good, but Bricker is known more for blowing-things-up, than his problem solving skills.

      Like

  22. digipicsphotography says:

    LMAO! Yep, that snake will take care of those little vermin. 😀

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Well, my snake won’t do much to the little pests…( I’m sure you noticed he’s rubber), but your snake. He has real fangs and slotted nostrils.
      “Runnnnnnnn for the lawnmower housing, Mousketeers!!!!”

      Like

  23. We’ve always been Chevy folks, (except for the Model A) and, now, thanks to you, I have another reason to NEVER buy a Toyota! I do love critters, but not in my car!!! Good luck with you furry problem.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Don’t tell anyone I said this, but they’re kind of cute. If I could find a toothless, pee-less version of the little rascals…I’d…..I’d….nope.
      Here Kitty, kitty, kitty.

      Like

  24. Words of advice: Don’t park in the barn or the shed and if you’re already not doing either, I am out of advice. How disconcerting…to drive a good speed and have one scurry past inside! The stuff of nightmares, I think. oooo…be safe…I’ve just met you.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Thank you Georgette. Is it wrong of me to leave the door cracked open when I park at the grocery store in hopes of giving them a 1-way ride?

      “Say good-bye to Uncle Herman, Mickey. We let him out at the local Starbucks.”

      Like

  25. Elyse says:

    There is a Christmas — buy your wife a Toyota — commercial in here, just scurrying around in my head. Along with the chuckles.

    Thanks for a nice way to start the day.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      You’re welcome and I’m so humbled that The AD woman comes to my blog!!!! Can you think of campaign to sell those odor-eating snakes? (see Priya’s comment).

      Like

  26. Priya says:

    Really? Could the snake remove the smell the little Mickeys left behind? My rides inside a Toyota will never be the same again.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      No, Priya. If snakes could remove bad smells, I think they’d put them in filling station restrooms. My snake smells like a rubber tire (which…now that I think of it…smells like some gas station bathrooms on the interstate.) But it’s an interesting idea. Can you imagine an odor eating snake? Cram a couple in gym shoes. Stink problem solved.

      Like

  27. JSD says:

    Eeeeeewwwwwwww…and I thought it was bad to have a spider drop down 4″ in front of my face when I’m flying down the freeway at 70 mph. Too bad you can’t find some feral cat to take up sentry duty.

    Like

  28. magsx2 says:

    Hi Barb,
    OMG that is unbelievable, I would never of imagined a mouse problem in a car. Just as well you are not frightened of snakes, I don’t know what I would do, but I’m not a snake person at all. I know one thing, if I saw a snake curled up in a car, I wouldn’t go anywhere near it. 🙂

    Like

    • Barb says:

      We used to have an old Ford with a rusted out floorboard. If it sat too long, all kinds of things crawled into it. I’d run a broom handle under the seat before I’d drive it. Ahhhh…good times. I’m glad for the change.

      Like

Tell Me All About It.

