Put on Your Flying Pants

For a change…(You know how I like to discuss change)…instead of  ramping up this month with darkness, black cats and all things creepy.

I thought I’d hold up one example of the beauty of our nights.

Of course, you’ll have to put on your flying pants…but NASA has made that easy.

Sit back, watch, and when things get dark in my life, I try to remember it’s all a matter of perspective.

Look for:  Green-Northern Lights
White-Lightning

Thank You NASA

Images: http://eol.jsc.nasa.gov/
Music: ‘Freedom Fighters’ by Two Steps from Hell

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Put on Your Flying Pants

  1. Aw, Barb! That was a treat. This old Texan especially enjoyed the Northern Lights. I’ve been to Alaska three times and never seen them in person! The whole thing was spectacular.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      It used to be that we could faintly see the Northern Lights in Oklahoma when I was a wee one. But there’s too much light pollution now. Isn’t it a miraculous vision, reminding us of our very small part in a big universe?

      Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    BFF & I both enjoyed that. Thanks, Barb!

    Like

  3. Margie says:

    What a great find!
    This is my favourite way to travel – up front view of things without having to go through the tedious process of getting there!
    The Northern Lights – put that on the plus side of living here in Canada. When the Aurora Watch website tells me the time is right, I am just a few hundred yards away from a possible show!

    Like

    • Barb says:

      I’m so jealous. We used to get the lights down this far, but there’s too much light pollution now. Take a gander at them for me, would you?

      Like

      • Margie says:

        The light pollution makes a big difference. We live a few miles north of several cities. If we lived a few miles south of them, we would never see the northern lights!
        Someday I’ll figure out how to photograph them…

        Like

  4. Alice Lynn says:

    Thanks for reminding us that we live in a Magical Realm sponsored by the Universe.

    Like

  5. Ever looking outward, we miss the beauty that is here don’t we?
    Thank you.

    Like

  6. Yep, had to strap on my space-britches for that one!

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Sometimes at night I sit out and look for the International Space Station going over. There’s a website which will tell what time and where to look for my specific area. The journey only lasts about 90 seconds, and I always wonder if they’re up there looking out of a port window, looking down at me looking at them. It’s my method to make the world a more cozy connected space in my mind.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell Me All About It.

