Write More Clearly. Your Butts Are A Problem.

This is for all you NaNoWriMo writers out there who are trying to finish your 50,000 word novels in a month.

Study the sign in the picture above.  It reads: Your butts are a problem.

It’s  referring to the litter of half-smoked cigarettes.  I doubt if all of you imaginative folks followed that theme. I didn’t.

Instead, I suspect you were thinking about broad pantloads of  flesh saddling those skinny bicycle seats.

The old adage: “It’s much easier to suggest a solution when you know nothing about the problem” (Anonymous)  is true.

Our manuscripts and short stories keep throwing problems at the hero.  Hopefully both writer and reader perceive the same thing as a problem.

We all strive to become the caliber of writers who can purposely distract and divert the reader rather than confuse him.

That’s why we keep working at it.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Life, Smiles, writer, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Write More Clearly. Your Butts Are A Problem.

  1. Don’t you think that was the point of placing this “butts” message right there?

    My guess is that the wit made people take note (just as you did) and drove the message home.

    Very good writing, I would say. (As a rule, I have found, to write well, you have to be prepared to leave some readers behind in order to stimulate and engage the rest.)

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Thanks Andreas for stopping by. Yes, I do think that’s the reason for the clever positioning of the “butts” message. However, you raise an interesting question about leaving writers behind. A question which often comes up during critique and workshop meetings. Not every word is for everyone (as indicated in the lively discussion at your blog about cold readers.)

      Like

  2. Lisa Nowak says:

    So true. It’s hard to see the outside from the inside when you’re writing.

    Like

  3. mmm…I think my butt is probably the best looking part of me! LOL Of course, I cannot get a great look at it so I could be wrong!!!!

    Like

  4. Roxie says:

    YOu are such a wonderful wit! Where do you come up with these illustrations?

    Write on, baby! Write on!!

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

