Can’t See The Light   

I have a trick to keep me buoyed during this dark time of season. I cut off the tops of onions (just the green parts) and use them in stews and tummy-warming casseroles.

Then I stick the bulbs in about an inch and a half of water and put the hopeful container near a window.

Stubs of Hope (and tastiness)

What little bit of sunlight we have only lasts about 7 hours and those minutes are full of gray clouds and raindrops.

But the onions remind me that the light is there and longer days are coming. I can’t hold sunlight in my hands, but the onions hold the miracle for me.

Within about 10 days, they’ve regrown new tops to be used again.

The Miracle of Unseen Light

The sunlight is coming.

Longer days are coming

Wherever your headspace and heart are right now, keep holding onto hope.

It’s coming. You just can’t see it yet.

Go soak some onions.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in A Laugh, Appreciation, Change, Cooking, Hope, Humor, Lights, Sleepless Nights, Worries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Can’t See The Light   

  1. Margy says:

    A nice reminder of some greenery that is not as easy to kill as a houseplant!

    Like

  2. Roxie says:

    Yellow things cheer me during our grim, grey days. Yellow mug for my tea. My school bus yellow rain coat. Yellow flowers on my rain hat. And soon, yellow ribbons on Christmas gifts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Al says:

    Clever. Good luck with the light deprivation from a fellow sufferer.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely to see another post from you.
    And go soak some onions has me smiling. Broadly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Barb says:

      It’s better than soaking your head, although that sometimes snaps me out of dithering around and wishing for the sun that your side of the world is now getting.

      Like

  5. Always brighter days ahead. It doesn’t necessarily mean weather but in soul, experiences, and more. Today Randy and I had to say goodbye to our sweet dog Charlotte. She went over the rainbow bridge. The blessing and brightness was having had her in our lives as long as we did.

    Like

    • Barb says:

      Oh, Rose. I’m so sorry. It’s hard to lose someone who is just like a family member. Yes, it feels like we all need a bit of hope. It’s so lovely you can cherish the days you had with her. My heart is with you.

      Like

  6. Mary Rivera says:

    Good idea! Thanks! MJ

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, I love that, Barb.
    Many many thanks for your hope.
    Myra

    Liked by 1 person

Tell Me All About It.