Life in the Basement or Life On the Roof?

Photo by Mumbley Joe

The Good ol’ Basement

I hate to admit that I sometimes find myself in the basement—but I do. Things don’t meet my expectations and I pace  the mental darkness of my emotional cellar. When I’m there, I notice that my favorite activity is to bring others to the basement also. You see, it’s easier to fling words of judgment, criticism, and evaluation than to actually do something.

Then there’s the roof….

Aaaaah….on those days I’m giving a shout out to passers-by, inviting them to stop and talk a while, urging them to come on up, and let their troubles roll off the edges.

I saw some Roof People today. They had their lights shining, signaling others to come on up.

  • the gentleman at the gym who looks for the quietest person there and makes sure to say hello.
  • the lady who let me go in front of her at the check-out line.
  • a hilarious Valentine card from Superman that  says “I’m thinkin’ of ya”

Where there’s Light, There’s Hope

Maybe you have basement days, too. So here’s what I’ve learned:

  • Get some rest (weariness is basement bait)
  • Eat healthy, be good to yourself  (because you deserve it!)
  • Look up. There’s always a  light guiding you to the rooftop—where you’ll be safe.

Let Your Light So Shine Among Men.

About Barb

I escaped from a hardscrabble farm in Oklahoma. I'm not sure why people think I have an accent. I miss the sunshine, but not the fried foods.
This entry was posted in Hope, Lights, Worries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life in the Basement or Life On the Roof?

  1. Les Riles says:

    We need a few basement days now and then to remind us of just how wonderful the roof days are. Just like love. Without pain in the past, we’d never know how good we have it now. I’m not forgetting my basement days, they make me appreciate it up here on the roof. Besides, when we’re in the basement, it’s important to remember that the only place left to go is upstairs.

    Like

  2. lisanowak says:

    I can always look to you for an uplifting blog post.

    Like

  3. digipicsphotography says:

    I think we all have basement days and roof days. I prefer roof days, but life doesn’t always let us have what we want when we want it :-).

    Like

  4. Roxie says:

    That’s why dogs are such happy people. All they can talk about is “roof, roof, roof!”

    Like

Tell Me All About It.

